Lavender Dreams

When purchasing a peasant top – or any top, actually – I ask the most important question, exemplified in the flowchart below.

IMG_8760.PNG

 

You’d think a flow chart is a bit redundant, but it’s not. I like flowcharts and any top I purchase must pass Ani’s Ultimate Spiderweb Jenny Test (patent pending).

Luckily, the new lavender peasant top from Pinup Girl Clothing perfectly matched the spiderweb jenny!

The lavender peasant top is the newly redesigned version of the fan-favorite top. My two lovely friends over at The Hepburn Movement wrote an amazing blogpost featuring the one and only peasant top. You’ll notice in their reviews and a few of my previous posts, the peasant tops were cut with a lower bust and a straight line underneath.

IMG_8717.JPG

The new peasant top features a very flattering curve below the bust and more room for bustier gals, resulting in a much more modest neckline. As much as I love my old peasant tops and will continue wearing them, I am extremely happy with this new look. It’s so flattering and I feel much more comfortable stepping out of the house. Also, it’s now work appropriate, which is always a plus!

 

IMG_8696.JPG

Once I paired it with the spiderweb Jenny, I immediately thought of Damien Hirst’s Butterfly paintings and prints.

Side note: This now makes me want the Pinup Girl Butterfly Dress in Moth Print even more than I’ve ever wanted.

Another side note: You’ll have to excuse my thought process lately –  for this blog I prefer to write my train of thoughts and now my mind’s running a mile a minute and I am pulling myself (and now you, fellow readers) in a million directions. Bear with me!

Damien Hirst is a British artist, whose fascination with life, death, and taxidermy is so relatable. He is considering one of the wealthiest living artists and is well known for his diamond-encrusted platinum skull, For the Love of God.

damien_hirst_damien_hirst_for_the_love_of_god_2_960x640.jpg

Damien Hirst, For the Love of God, 2007.

 

He is also well known for his use of animal carcasses, butterfly paintings and prints. What more can a girl ask for?!

The lavender of the peasant top really reminded me of the lavender Hirst used in The Souls IV

larger.jpg

Damien Hirst, The Souls IV – Oriental Gold – Gunmetal – Silver Gloss, 2010.

While it took me a while to get used to butterflies (they were my least favorite insect), thanks to Insect Diva and cute yellow butterflies that always fly around my front porch, I started appreciating them.

In addition to the redesign, the thing that keeps me going back to peasant tops is the fact that it comes in such a great variety of colors. I probably have about 10 or more! I can easily say that the lavender is definitely in my top favorite colors I own. Whether it’s because it is so similar to the lavender used in Damien Hirst’s piece above, or I’m totally swayed by the new bust, I can’t tell. All I know is I can’t wait to see all the new beautiful peasant tops with this cut!

IMG_8708.JPG

To go with the spooky theme of the skirt, I also wore one of my favorite vintage brooches – a witch and a little ghost on a broomstick. I feel so lucky I came across this piece. I love vintage brooches so I’m so glad I was able to add it to my collection.

IMG_8710.JPG

I also wore my BAIT shoes and matched it with a Pinup Couture purse which I got for free at the previous yardsale (score!)

Also, since I had my hair done the day before by the amazing Missy Firestone, all I had to do was my makeup. Seriously, you guys – check her out! Her updos last for days and I am ALWAYS satisfied with my haircuts and colors!

IMG_8723.JPG

Outfit Details:
Peasant Top, Skirt, Purse: Pinup Girl Clothing
Shoes: BAIT Footwear
Brooch: Vintage

 

One thought on “Lavender Dreams

  1. Emily says:

    Oh my goodness, it’s the perfect top! I was wondering about the redesign, since I feel like I bust out of the old versions a bit — now I’m dying for the pink one!

    In other news, I used to be weirded out by butterflies too, and I love the color of that Hirst butterfly as well!

    You look great with bumper bangs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

