Palm Springs Art Museum

Happy Monday, lovely readers!

I’m so excited to finally publish this post on the Palm Springs Art Museum and the most perfect outfit for it by Le Bomb Shop!

FullSizeRender.jpg

For those of you who know me, you know that I love Palm Springs. If I could choose someplace to live in the US aside from Los Angeles and a ghost town (yes, ghost towns are options for me), it would be Palm Springs. Sure, the heat can be unbearable, but I love the atmosphere! No trip to Palm Springs can be complete without a trip to the Palm Springs Art Museum.

IMG_5713.JPG

They have a wonderful collection of contemporary and modern art, Mesoamerican, Native American, and Arts of the West. Alongside the permanent collection, they also feature temporary and rotating exhibitions. The space itself is absolutely wonderful and includes some great contrasting  walls of natural stone, similar to that outside of the museum. They provide a very interesting blend of contemporary architecture and raw materials, reminiscent of the rocky mountains behind the beautiful museum.

During our trip, they were displaying Contemporary Glass and A Passionate Eye: The Weiner Family Collection. I am not too familiar with contemporary glass art, so I was thankful I had the opportunity to experience and learn more about glassmaking techniques through the exhibition.

IMG_5725.JPG

I was also very thrilled to experience artworks by so many modern artists I adore, including Alexander Calder, Jean Arp, Amedeo Modigliani, and numerous others. If I ever had the money to purchase artworks by art legends, this would be the collection I’d want to own.

The truth is, I can see works by these artists at other museums as well. They may not be the same artworks, but I can experience their works elsewhere. But what makes each of these exhibitions so special, aside from experiencing other works by these artists, is the curatorial choices behind them. In the case of the Weiner Family Collection, we must also pay attention to their collection methods as well, and the way that the artworks coexist with one another within the collection.

Every experience at a museum is unique to the individual and how you choose to experience the artworks.

IMG_5742.JPG

Louise Bourgeois, Spider II, 1995Bronze, Wall Piece, Edition 4/6

For my trip to the Palm Springs Art Museum, I chose to wear my Marilyn Monroe Pop Art skirt and the Norma Jean top from Le Bomb Shop. I was very inspired to wear something honoring Marilyn Monroe because she is such an important figure in Palm Springs. For the longest time, Palm Springs was home to a larger-than-life statue of Marilyn Monroe, by artist Seward Johnson, in her infamous white dress from the 1955 film The Seven Year Itch.

m1.jpg

John Seward Johnson II, Forever Marilyn, 2011.

In addition, since we were going to an art museum, it was also perfect that the skirt was inspired by the famous Marilyn Monroe by Andy Warhol.

W1siZiIsIjI2NDkyOSJdLFsicCIsImNvbnZlcnQiLCItcmVzaXplIDEzNjZ4MTM2Nlx1MDAzZSJdXQ.jpg

Andy Warhol, Untited from Marilyn Monroe, 1967.

The skirt is super comfortable and includes a very thin lining underneath, which makes it perfect to wear in the Palm Springs heat. The material of the skirt is very lightweight and structured enough to wear without a petticoat. I knew I wouldn’t be able to wear layers of petticoats underneath my skirts at Palm Springs, so this was perfect to give me the fullness I desire in skirts without the layers of petticoats.

IMG_5696.JPG

The skirt is rather short. I’m 5’2″ with short legs but the skirt hits me at my knee. This is usually a little bit out of my comfort zone, but the style of the skirt gave the illusion of long legs. So, from the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU LE BOMB SHOP! To be honest, I actually loved this skirt so much I even got the comic book print, which reminded me of Roy Lichtenstein’s works.

IMG_5694.JPG

Now, the Norma Jean top is seriously out of my comfort zone. I don’t feel fully comfortable exposing my back because of my birthmark. However, when I saw it on Miss Lark Bahar, I was tempted to try it out! I purchased the black and I was hesitant to put it on at first. However, after experimenting with the millions of ways to wear it, I fell in love. I used my bullet bra pads with the top in order to feel a little more comfortable going out without a bra. It worked out perfectly and the style of the top helped give the illusion of a narrower waist. It’s a wonderful piece and I’m so glad I took the risk and bought it! You can always change the way you wear it, which means you pretty much get 5 or so different tops for the price of one! I keep experimenting with it and always finding new ways of wearing it. I really need this in so many more colors!

IMG_5680.JPG

I also paired the outfit with my Bettie Page heels and the 1922 Blood Red lipstick by Besame Cosmetics. You can’t ever go wrong with these two brands!

Outfit Details:
Top and skirt: Le Bomb Shop
Shoes: Bettie Page
Lipstick: Besame Cosmetics

Leave a Reply

