Dapper Day at LACMA

Happy Monday, lovely readers!

IMG_6818.JPG

Last Friday was Dapper Day at LACMA. Usually I prefer to stay home on Fridays. I usually get very lazy with hair, makeup, and outfits on Fridays so staying home is a great option. Although I considered skipping this Dapper Day event, I’m so glad I went. After all, I couldn’t miss out on a museum trip, free jazz, and seeing so many dapper ladies and gents!

IMG_6800.JPG

Dapper Day at LACMA was a full day event with docent led tours of Reigning Men: Fashion in Menswear 1715-2015, picnic on LACMA’s lawn, followed by a jazz concert featuring Sasha’s Bloc. Unfortunately due to work I wasn’t able to make it to the docent-led tours of the exhibition, but I did have the opportunity to view the exhibition on my own later.

IMG_6803.JPG

Reigning Men featured men’s fashion from the eighteenth century to contemporary times, challenging the notion that fashion is “feminine.” The exhibition displayed historical pieces of fashion, such as a smoking suit, and the contemporary designer’s work who was inspired by the garment. Designers such as Vivienne Westwood, Tom Ford, Alexander McQueen, among others, were displayed alongside historical pieces pulled out of LACMA’s own collection.

IMG_6807.JPG

The exhibition was quite comprehensive and divided into multiple sections, such as East/West cross-cultural influences, Uniforms, and standards of beauty and fashion for men. I loved that I had the opportunity to view the evolution of men’s fashion, especially since there isn’t as much attention put on the history of menswear. I’ve included some memorable pieces from the exhibition here for you to enjoy!

For this Dapper Day, I decided to wear one of my favorite vintage pieces. The dress is from late 50s/60s and made of Italian silk dupioni. It’s such a beautiful cut and has small roses across the bodies. I absolutely fell in love with the dress as soon as I saw it.

IMG_6869.JPG

I paired the dress with my silver Bettie Page shoes that I got off a Zulily sale. I’ve ordered from Zulily twice now and both times it’s been very successful. Bettie Page shoes are one of the most comfortable brands I own. To be honest, I don’t have any accessories to match this dress, but I’m on the hunt for them! I’m just glad I had these silver shoes in my closet because they’re the only light colored shoes I own.

IMG_6882.JPG

I don’t have a purse to match the dress either, so I just took a black purse from Pinup Couture, although ideally I’d have held a lucite purse if I could afford one.

Although my mis-matched purse was on my mind and I was quite exhausted, I still had a wonderful time. Sasha’s Bloc was great and we got a chance to try a couple of drinks specifically for the event.

Outfit Details:
Dress: Vintage from Ghost Rabbits Vintage
Shoes: Bettie Page Shoes

 

 

One thought on “Dapper Day at LACMA

Leave a Reply

