Miracle Mile

Question: How many candy striped items can a girl have?
Answer:tumblr_m8z1jigDLv1r5pqmto1_500.gif

I wanted to blog about the Candy Striped harley dress the day I got in the mail but I thought I should wait a little so we avoid stripes overload. I realize I have a problem, but I just can’t help myself – I love stripes!

FullSizeRender_2.jpg

The moment I saw the Harley dress I immediately though of Robert Irwin’s Miracle Mile on display at LACMA. The shades and sequence of colors are very similar of Miracle Mile are almost identical to the shades of the new candy striped harley dress.

EX7995_1.jpg

Robert Irwin, Miracle Mile, 2013-ongoing

Robert Irwin is a contemporary installation and light works artist known for his site-specific works, whose first exhibition of paintings was in LACMA in 1957. In Miracle Mile, Irwin has used 66 fluorescent tubes covered in colorful gels varying in shades. A single photograph cannot actually capture what Miracle Mile does to a viewer’s perception in person.

The artwork is situated in a hallway that connects Richard Serra’s Band and Chris Burden’s Metropolis II. On the opposing end is a large panoramic window right along Wilshire Blvd. (yes, Miracle Mile faces Miracle Mile). The artwork’s complexity stems from its relationship to its surroundings. However, without human and natural intervention, Miracle Mile would cease to exist. The artwork evolves every second of the day, just as shadows and lighting shift outside on Wilshire Blvd. The piece can never look the same because so many elements factor into the existence of the piece. In addition, the viewer’s perception and individual experience with the artwork deepens the complexity of the piece. Where the viewer stands, how they look, and what they choose to notice in the piece creates an experience that can never be duplicated.

DW-L38-P4-1-2-ISLA.jpg

Miracle Mile Sign on Wilshire Blvd, circa 1940 

Not only can you view Miracle Mile when you’re in the gallery, you can also view it outside as you’re walking across the street, which completely changes the definition of how to view art in museums. Irwin’s choice to position his piece in a way that museum goers and the public can view also gets me to question standard definitions of museums. As a museum professional, my goal is to bring people to the museum. A visitors physical presence in the museum is significant because they chose to walk through those doors and view art. But Irwin’s choice of offering Miracle Mile a dual existence allows art to trickle into people’s peripheral vision, whether they are in the museum with the intention of viewing his piece or not.

FullSizeRender_5.jpg

Pinup Girl Clothing’s [sort of] new candy striped Harley dress similarly plays with a viewer’s perception. The dress has beautifully vivid red, green, blue stripes of varying thicknesses. Initially, I thought they were on a white background, but upon further inspection, I noticed they’re actually a very soft shade of pink. The dress is stunning because just like Irwin’s Miracle Mile, the Harley dress changes according to the lighting and the viewer’s perception. As you can seen in the various images, the colors of the dress shift according to the lighting and where I’m standing.

IMG_4687.JPG

The dress comes with a red belt which is perfect, because I love wearing red. I put in a simple hair flower I got from the H&M in Lebanon and one of my favorite Bettie Page shoes. Bettie Page shoes are so stylish and comfortable, and the best part is there are frequent Zulily sales where you can find them for very cheap.

FullSizeRender_8.jpg

I was initially hesitant about the bodice because I was worried it wouldn’t look good on my shoulders. I was definitely wrong! It’s super flattering and very comfortable to wear. Because you can’t wear a regular bra with the dress, the best option is strapless. I prefer to wear a longline strapless because I find it more comfortable than regular strapless bras, and I’m less anxious about going out in them.

 

FullSizeRender_6.jpg

I’m also glad that all the new PUG dresses and skirts have pockets! It’s perfect for the modern girl who has a vintage heart.

Outfit Details:
Dress: Pinup Girl Clothing
Shoes: Bettie Page Shoes
Hair Accessory: H&M
Petticoat: Malco Modes

 

One thought on “Miracle Mile

  1. Emily says:

    This is absolutely brilliant, and makes me wish I could go to LACMA when I’m in LA next weekend! Your analysis of art is always so impressive: you give such a lovely reader-friendly overview, yet it’s always so personalized to your outfit!

    The Harley is absolutely to die for on you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

