Elephants…Elephants Everywhere!

Oh well, here’s my first blog post!

I thought I should do a dress review of one of my favorite pieces in my closet, the Mary Blair Circus Elephant Print Lydia dress from Pinup Girl Clothing. Considering how much I talked about the dress before it was even released, it’s only fitting I talk about it first on my blog too.

I absolutely love elephants, I even have a pair of elephant menagerie that was passed down to me from my great-grandmother. Fun fact: elephants can swim and they use their trunks like a snorkel underwater to breathe. Isn’t that just one of the most adorable things you’ve ever read? Elephants are just…so special to me.

When I think of elephants, I think of Dumbo and Dali. The former depresses me, even though it’s one of my favorite movies, and the latter excites me because I’m a bit huge Art History nerd. So one of my inspirations behind this purchase was Dali’s…wait for it… Dream Caused by the Flight of a Bee Around a Pomegranate a Second Before Awakening.

work_059.jpg

Salvador Dali, Dream Caused by the Flight of a Bee Around a Pomegranate a Second Before Awakening, 1944. Oil on wood.

 

The light, airy quality of the painting, as well as the the fact that tigers are also a circus animal, slightly alludes to the circus print dress.

(Note: For the sake of all our sanity and keeping this blog post short and sweet, I’ll avoid the Freudian interpretation of this painting)

As a result, I patiently impatiently waited for the release of the print. With the help of the lovely girls on the Facebook Pinup Girl Customer Lounge (sidenote: you should definitely join if you haven’t yet), I decided to purchase the Lydia dress as opposed to the Jenny skirt. I have not tried yet, but apparently the Lydia is one of the easiest dress to convert into a skirt. So anytime I get bored of wearing it as a dress, I can easily pair it with a blouse and wear it as a skirt!

FullSizeRender.jpg

The Lydia dress has about the same fullness as a Jenny skirt. I paired it with my soft pink Jennifer petticoat from Malco Modes since recieving this dress was a momentous occasion for me. For a more casual look, I prefer the Malco Modes Cosette petticoat with my fuller skirts.

I don’t usually wear much jewelry, as you can tell, so I only wore my beautiful gold hoops. The neckline of the Lydia dress is so flattering, I felt that wearing a brooch or a necklace would be a distraction. I know some people find the bust to be a little too revealing, but I actually don’t mind it at all. The adjustable straps in the back are also helpful to make sure that the straps sit comfortably.

Photo Jun 04, 5 00 35 PM (1).jpg

I paired the dress with my pink heels from Chelsea Crew. When I was taking these photos, I actually had a sprained ankle, and I was worried that I’d aggravate the pain by wearing heels. Chelsea Crew shoes are so comfortable that it actually didn’t do the damage I expected. So if a clumsy girl with a sprained ankle can wear these shoes comfortably, then you can too! It is definitely one of my favorite shoe brands.

Coincidentally, I had a hair appointment with Missy on the day that I received my dress! As Missy said, I had Natasha Fatale hair. Comparing hair to cartoons has got to be one of the most flattering compliments in the world. So yes, ladies and gents, Missy is a magician when it comes to hair.

IMG_2990.JPG

On this one Saturday, everything fell perfectly into place. My hair was freshly dyed and styled, my dress came in the mail, and I was rather proud of the makeup I did. To say the least, it was a good day.

Oh, and one last thing…IT HAS POCKETS!

Dress: Pinup Girl Clothing
Petticoat: Malco Modes
Shoes: Modcloth
Lipstick: Besamé Cosmetics
Hair: Missy Firestone

 

 

One thought on “Elephants…Elephants Everywhere!

  1. Emily says:

    First of all, I am still so delighted that you took the plunge and started a style blog! I’m looking forward to all the fun art/style things you have planned, and I just love reading what you write! You have such a knack for writing about your interests in an accessible, engaging way…oh, and these photos are all SO gorgeous!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

